Neurotic? Or just good coffee?

14 Mar

So, maybe I’m a little neurotic when it comes to food.  Maybe I like to get food that’s the best quality possible – and locally grown is even better.  Maybe I don’t like artificial stuff in there.  And maybe last Thanksgiving I spent an entire day going to the farmers market and roasting a pumpkin for my very first pumpkin pie.  Just maybe.

I can’t help it.  This is who I am, and this very special brand of crazy is ingrained in my DNA.  To me, it just makes sense:  better-tasting food and better for the environment.  What’s not to love?

And call me even crazier, but I love shopping locally for fresh food.  Going to Saturday-morning farmers markets gets me high. Visiting the local co-op to discover organic Ohio wheat describes the perfect Sunday afternoon.  Driving up to a local winery is the best way to spend a random Thursday holiday.  And I’m already anticipating visiting the Snowville Creamery Dairy Farm when the weather gets nicer!  Now, if only I could figure out how to take a tour of the Jeni’s kitchen…

Anyway, all this talk spurred from today’s quest to make a better cup of coffee.  Am I wrong for thinking that my cup of joe should be more than a cup of jolt?  I already buy good-quality whole beans and grind them daily.  And I accompany my cup with organic half & half, raw sugar, and Madagascar vanilla.  But today, I decided I’m going to start using filtered water for my brew.

And guess what?  It totally makes a difference.  I love little experiments like this, but I will be the first to admit when something doesn’t work or when it’s just not worth the time or the price.  But this, my friends, is worth it all.

2 Responses to “Neurotic? Or just good coffee?”

  1. thekeithmiles March 15, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Whack-job! (who makes wonderful coffee. And pie. And everything)

    • Bryant March 15, 2011 at 1:30 am #

      Awww! So sweet of u! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

