Trying to be more fiber-rific

14 Mar

Oh yeah, did I mention that I’m gonna talk about poop here?  Well, I am.

And if you don’t like that, you can use my nifty “categories” button at the bottom of my site to read about everything except poop.

Why am I going to talk about poop, you ask?  Because it’s such a large part of my life, and sometimes thinking about it consumes me. I’ve had major tummy issues since I was a little boy, and if using my mother as a guide, it’s not going to get any better as I get older. I’m not even 30 yet, and I’ve already had two colonoscopies – one at 18 and one at 28!

Anyway – back to the subject at hand:  fiber.  When I’m not on an extremely high-fiber diet, then I don’t poop.  Seriously.  For days and days.  And when I don’t poop, I become a toxic bitch.  And nobody likes that.  And lately I’ve become a white four & sugar whore, and there’s been very little poop.

So, for the sake of not being a toxic bitch, I’ve decided to make my life more fiber-rific.  I’m going to stop eating white flour and processed carbohydrates whenever possible and focus more on fruits, veggies, legumes, and whole grains.  Here’s what I bought or made to snack on this week:

  • bran muffins with cherries and almonds
  • frozen mangoes
  • canned beans
  • lentil soup
  • oranges, lots of oranges
  • grape tomatoes
  • salads
  • y mas!

And if you know me, you know I love to bake.  And this might seem counter-productive to my new “no whoring around with white flour & sugar” philosophy.  But I have a plan!  I’m going to splurge once a week on a sweet treat.  Either I’ll get some Jeni’s ice cream (oh, the corn syrup custard with whiskey pecans) or I’ll bake something fabulous – if I have a project I’ve been wanting to try.  That sounds easy enough and doable, right?

Well, enough about fiber and poop for now.  I’ll keep y’all posted on the outcome (but not the output!).

4 Responses to “Trying to be more fiber-rific”

  1. paulandsilas March 14, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Glad to know that I’m not the only one consumed by poop…lol.
    I love your writing style and your tone. I look forward to reading more blog entries. 🙂

    • Bryant March 14, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      You just gave a writer the best compliment ever! xoxo

  2. SaRea March 15, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Broccoli Slaw! I am telling you….it works lol. I combine it raw spinach or put it some veggie broth with soy sauce.

    • Bryant March 15, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      Gimme the full deets, and I’ll give a try! And then, of course, I’ll write about it.

Leave a Reply

