And today I’m in Seoul

16 Mar

I’m not really a souvenir person.  I don’t need a trinket to remind me of a place.  I believe in fully experiencing a city, or in some cases – a country, and then the memories are embedded in my soul forever.  Then, all it takes is a familiar song, a picture, or a smell –  and those memories come flooding back.

Well, a few years ago – during my big world-traveling blitz, I found a souvenir that I just had to have.  I was standing in line at a Starbucks in Manila, and I saw their “City Mug” collection.  Now this was something I could collect – something that was actually usable and would remind me of a place I’d visited.

So, fast-forward a few years.  I was out of regular coffee mugs today, so I reached for one of my Starbucks City Mugs.  And I grabbed the Seoul one.  And I remember buying that mug on my last day in Seoul – and being so conflicted inside.

I was supposed to move there.  I had a job there.  I didn’t have a home in the US anymore.  But I just couldn’t do it.  I knew that day that I couldn’t move there.  But how in the hell was I going to get out of that one?

I did get out of it – and it took me about a year to get my life straightened back out.  And it was absolutely the right decision.  So, today, as I sit here with my fiber muffin and coffee – and Keithy by my side – I’m the happiest I’ve ever been.  No, I’m not living abroad in some strange city having wild adventures.  But this domestic life thing – this love thing – is even more a wild adventure for me.  I’ve been there and travelled that, but this relationship stuff is foreign to me.  I think I need a City Mug for that.

2 Responses to “And today I’m in Seoul”

  1. Keith Miles March 16, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Where my like button?

Leave a Reply

