I wanna tap maple syrup! But where?

19 Mar


So, I picked up a copy of Edible Columbus last night at a Yelp party, and my wheels have started turning!

Spinning would probably be a better way to describe the thoughts in my head.  EC is one of my favorite periodicals because it’s all about fresh, local foods, visiting farmers markets, simple and authentic recipes – you get the picture.

One of my favorite little blurbs from this edition is about tapping for maple syrup in the month of March.  Ya see, in the South, we didn’t do this; I guess we could have tapped a pine tree, but that’s just silly.  Actually, the word “tap” kinda makes me giggle every time I use it.  Call me a 16 year-old boy.

The article directed me to a website, http://ohiomapleproducers.com, to find out more info on how my “family” and I could go tree tapping.  Well, that sounded like a fabulous idea!  So, I went to the website, and it’s kind of a mess.  And nowhere does it tell me about tree tapping.  There is a massive list of places throughout Ohio that have tours, but I saw no tapping.  Also, all the places on this list are tiny towns, and none have a 614 area code – so I don’t have a clue where to go!

I wanna go tree tapping!  And I think I only have a couple more weeks – from what I’ve read, this thing only lasts till the end of March.  Can anybody shed more light on this topic?

Leave a Reply

