It’s Britney, bitch.

26 Mar

So what I’m almost 30? So is she. So what I’ve had near-breakdowns? So has she. So what I like to just get caught up in a pop-rocks-encrusted saccharin song and sing along? So does she.

It’s Britney, bitch.  She’s back!

Yes, dear friends, this is what’s genuinely on my mind today.  In fact, I’ve been thinking about it all week.  Hell, it’s kinda what I’ve been thinking about all the time.

I love Britney Spears.  There.  I said it.  Now, I’m not one to play up stereotypes, but I just can’t help myself when it comes to Miss Spears.  We’ve had a love affair that’s lasted longer than many relationships – 15 years!

I know some of you just don’t get it.  I know she’s not the best singer.  I know her life has kinda been a mess.  I know her tracks are always showing.  But I’m in love with the whole person – not just the sum of her hair extensions.  But what is it about my beloved Brit-brit that makes me want to take off work next Tuesday for her big day when the album drops and she performs on GMA?

B and I are the same age – only days apart.  And we both grew up in the sticks of Louisiana.  So, already I feel like she’s my Southern soul sister (cue Lady Marmalade).  But there’s so much more to it.  With all the push-up bras, fake eyelashes, spray tans, and auto-tune, there’s something insanely real about my girl.

She’s always just laid it out there – put herself on the line for all the world to see.  And I totally connect to that.  Her openness is probably one of the main reasons why I don’t have a filter today.  But she also offers escapism from the real world.  When I was a 14 year-old kid feeling very alone on that dirt road in Winn Parish, I would just break out my Britney songbook and play Baby One More TIme over and over again on my momma’s upright piano – and I was instantly in another world.  A glittery one, naturally.

So, if Britney has taught me anything, it’s to let my weave show – not to be ashamed of my imperfections or try to hide it when my shit ain’t together.

Yep, Britney taught me to be real.

4 Responses to “It’s Britney, bitch.”

  1. thisisnotadetour March 26, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Love this. ❤

    • Bryant March 26, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

      hehehe! Thanks! =)

  2. Cake Betch March 26, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    LOL I have always liked her too. I was so mad a few years ago when she made her (first) comeback and people tore her apart for being ‘fat’. I’ve always hoped she would get her shit back together and come back to the stage 🙂

    PS – I’m a Slave 4 U video? I have never seen anything so hot.

  3. Lisa Spears March 29, 2011 at 12:54 am #

    Hence my name….It’s karma!

Leave a Reply

