Keeping it fiber-rific: whole wheat couscous

3 Apr

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been trying to be more fiber-rific.  It’s all about the poop.  I’m tellin’ ya – my life revolves around missing socks and poop.  Can I just have an effing endless supply of matching, hole-less socks and a daily bowel movement?  Is that too much to ask?

So this whole fiber-rific movement (ha – a poop joke without even trying!) is going,ummm, better than I had expected.  Don’t get me wrong – I’m not even close to having a normal digestive tract, but it’s much better.

I kinda feel like a psycho when I look for food because I’m always counting the grams of fiber and protein.  The fiber is to help me poop – and the protein is to help me feel fuller for longer.  And this week I discovered a SuperFood!  It’s like the land of milk and hon…err protein and fiber! It’s whole wheat couscous!

I was wandering the aisles of Trader Joe’s – as I normally do every Sunday afternoon – and I saw a box of whole wheat couscous sitting on the shelf.  I’d had couscous before at restaurants, and I knew it tasted good – but who knew it was a poop maker?!  We’re talking 7 grams of fiber and 8 grams of protein!  I had no clue what I was going to do with this stuff, but by god, I was going to do something!

When I arrived home feeling very proud of my discovery, I got some pretty disdainful looks from Keithy and SNM (Short North Mom).  But I was not going to let any haters derail my plans!  So, SNM and I cooked some orange chicken and veggies over whole wheat couscous, and it was delish! Even SNM thought it was a winner!  It tasted great and gave the same type of feeling you get from eating rice.

Good job, couscous!

2 Responses to “Keeping it fiber-rific: whole wheat couscous”

  1. Cake Betch April 3, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Hahahaha! I would KILL to make some poo once a day! That would be AMAZING! I just try to drink shitloads of water. Hahaha

    • Bryant April 3, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      LOL! You know all I thought about while writing this was “the water”. I love how poo rules our lives!

Leave a Reply

