What’s my purpose?

3 Apr

Yeah, those last two posts were just to get me warmed up for what’s really been on my mind lately.

Last Sunday, I was watching an Oprah special, and she talked about each one of us having a purpose for being here – for being alive in this world.  And then she said – and I feel like it was directed right at me – “If you don’t know your purpose, then you need to make it your top priority to find your purpose as quickly as you can.”  Uh oh.  I’ve been doing this all wrong for the past 29 years.

I’ve spent my life chasing after my passions and trying to pick one – or two – or ten.  If I had to list some things I am passionate about, my list would be a mile long and include things like:

  • cooking
  • baking
  • music
  • writing
  • editing
  • gay issues
  • farming
  • cupcake trucks
  • chickens
  • farmers markets
  • teaching
  • holistic medicine
  • helping others

But what is my purpose in life?  What am I supposed to be doing?  What’s my calling?  I’ve always felt like I’ve just been running around trying to find something, but I couldn’t figure out what it was.  And now I know – I’ve been trying to find my purpose.

Now, here’s the scary part:  I have no clue what it is.  None.  Nada.  Not the foggiest idea why I’m here.  And I feel like my time is running out, and I don’t want to waste this life I’ve been given.  I want to make a difference.  I want to do what I’m meant to do.

So, I ask in all sincerity:  Do you know your purpose?  What is it?  How did you find it?

4 Responses to “What’s my purpose?”

  1. xcarolineno April 3, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    Hmm. Well, I don’t know if I agree with Oprah, peach. I don’t think everyone needs a singular purpose in a postmodern world. I think all the things you listed are amazing, they make up who you are and why I, as your friend, admire you.

    The problem to me with “you must find your purpose” is that is obviously throws those who dont or think they don’t have a purpose… into crisis. I mean, that’s the point right, because Opes made *you* worry (although it was obviously already on your mind). Not saying I’m immune either, as I have just completely 10 years of school only to find out that teaching college is VERY likely NOT my “purpose…”

    However crisis-inducing this is, however, it seems more productive to me to embrace all those wonderful things you are – a collection or plethora of amazingness – as what defines you, and then move through life with all of those interests, strengths, and wonders. Your purpose is none other than to be yourself. ❤

    • Bryant April 3, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      I love your perspective on this. And though it may have sounded like, “Oprah commanded – and I must do-eth”, it didn’t go down quite like that. It was more of a moment of realization. And I don’t think that “purpose” is a singular job or career – I think it can mean a collection of events. But I do think I have a reason for being here – not just to live life for me – in all my selfish glory.

  2. Cake Betch April 3, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Yeah I agree with xcarolineno. I’ve spent a long time freaking out over what my ‘purpose’ was but I don’t think the majority of people really know what they’re here to do. I’ve struggled with “what am I going to do with my life??” but I’ve come to realize that no matter what plans I make things always go in a different direction and so far it’s worked out pretty damn well for me. I think you continue to pursue the things you love and find enjoyment in them and in life then you WILL be doing what you’re here to do… things will unfold the way they’re supposed to.

    • Bryant April 3, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      Good insight, betch. BTW – I’ve been thinking of something I want you to guest-blog for – more details to come!

Leave a Reply

