Why everybody hates Jennifer Hudson

5 Jun

Let me start out by saying that I don’t hate Jennifer Hudson. Really, I don’t.

So then why the post? Because she irks me. Everybody loves to root for an underdog, so it irks me that she’s not as wildly popular as she should be. Let’s face it – homegurl was a serious underdog who has overcome some pretty tumultuous things in her life. Yet, she’s still not slayin’ the entertainment world like she should. And this brings me to the reason for my post – Why everybody hates Jennifer Hudson.

Let’s start at the beginning – the Idol days. She first burst onto the scene in that hideous silver spaceman unitard nonsense. I think in most cases, that would have been endearing and would have made me want to cheer her on. But no – not J Hud. She came across cocky, and I just wanted to make fun of her. And then that cockiness continued all season long and even manifested itself into arrogance. Eww. Now don’t get me wrong – gurl can sang. But gurl also had her head up her ass. Honestly, I wasn’t surprised whatsoever when she was voted off. In 7th place. Yeah, I know it was supposed to have been shocking or whatever, but people just didn’t like her that much.

And then there was Dreamgirls. Reports started to surface about her diva behavior, but that’s just tabloid garbage, right? Or was it? Article after article was written about her demands and how nasty she was to Beyonce. But whatever – you can’t trust those gossip sites anyway. And then the movie came out. And it was good. But I kinda felt like she wasn’t really doing any acting. I felt like she was just being herself – a diva. And yeah, yeah – she won the Oscar. No, seriously – great for her. But remember her acceptance speech? Not gracious or humble in the least.

Next up – the album. I thought this was really going to be her time to shine and show the world who she really is. And I really loved that album. Spotlight was my jam. It should have been every gay boy’s jam. But the album flopped. It sold a decent amount, but in comparison to what it should have sold – it was a commercial failure. Her singles just kept getting pushed back and switched out for other songs because of poor public reception. And then finally the album just died. I know it won her a few Grammys – rightfully so – but those awards aren’t voted on by the public. When it comes to anything awarded by the public (like album sales or radio play), she just can’t swing it.

And did anybody see her in Sex & the City? Gurl was not good. I’ll just leave it at that.

And then the horrible, unthinkable tragedy happened to her. Her family members were murdered. It was terrible and heartbreaking, and I was genuinely upset for her. And so was the rest of the world. For the first time, people connected with her. This should have been a new beginning for her. But alas, it wasn’t.

I started to see J Hud resurface in her Weight Watchers commercials and was so excited she was back on the scene. I was proud of her for coming through all that shiz and getting her life back together. And then Where You At? came out. And oh. Em. Gee. Loved it. But in all her interviews to support the album and the weight loss, the arrogant and cocky J Hud was back with a vengeance. Seriously. Worse than ever. And did y’all see what she did to Oprah? Flew outta Chicago the night before her show taping to go to a party in Texas. And then got trapped because of a snowstorm. And showed up like 6 hours late and made the O Team scramble around trying to fix that shit. She was out of control, and the Big O put her in her place. I don’t think I’ve ever cheered so much at the TV screen as when Oprah chewed out J Hud! Somebody had to do it.

And now, her new album is kinda tanking too. Why? Not because it sucks. It’s really good. It’s because she’s not authentic. She’s not genuine. And she’s just not likable. I’m sorry for going off on you like this, J Hud, but it’s only because I want you to succeed! Maybe you should take a note from my beloved Britney and let your tracks show every once in a while. BritBrit may not be the best singer, but she’s real, and people want to root for her. And gurl, you’ve got loads of talent – you could rule the world. If only people liked you.

16 Responses to “Why everybody hates Jennifer Hudson”

  1. Cake Betch June 5, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I gotta be honest when I tell you I don’t know ANYTHING about Jennifer Hudson. Honestly, from looking at her, I would think that she’s a little demure and shy. I don’t watch Idol anymore (no cable) and I couldn’t tell you a single song she sings. How could she be so out of touch and arrogant rather than realize that her persona isn’t working for the public? You know, the people that pay for that expensive nutritional and workout team she probably got to help her lose weight (that I would love to have myself)? Sigh. Poor J-Hud. Some people are their own worst enemy.

    • Bryant June 5, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

      Haha – I love how un-technological we are! I just got my very first TV last year, and I forget to watch it all the time. But I’ve always managed to catch Idol somewhere. And J-Hud is a bia.

  2. thekeithmiles June 5, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    You nailed it… if she were humble, real, and approachable – she could rule the music scene. We are crying out for a new Maria or Whitney… and JHud has it in her to be that person. I think she surrounds herself with people who don’t help her to make good choices. People who are manipulating her for their own gain. Those people are destroying her career. If she we to become her true, best, self… she’d be loved by everyone.

    • Bryant June 5, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

      Agree completely. Ugh, poor J Hud.

      • Crystal January 22, 2012 at 11:50 am #

        Or maybe her true, best self is a cocky, arrogant brat who lies in Weight Watchers commercials. She did NOT lose weight with Weight Watchers alone, that’s physcially obvious, and I say that because while I understand she “spent three years on her journey”, no one, no one, loses weight so evenly in all the same places — it just doesn’t happen without cosmetic assistance, and she wasn’t that proportional when she was fat. Also, her direct correspondence with her fans is rude — look at that twitter feed where a girl asked if she had help losing weight and she insulted her — on her personal twitter. She’s got a good, not great, not Whitney, but good voice, but her albums wouldn’t be shit without her team. I vote overrated.

      • Bryant January 22, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

        Crystal – I love you. You are totally right.

        B

  3. Pymp January 1, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I just think she cant sing. She yells, and I think she has a bad ass attitude that cant be backed up with talent. America voted her off in AI because they didnt like her. And as a pro she still has an aura of – ghetto chick gone Hollywood that is not appealing to America. I wish she went back in hole and never came out. Ohhhh the weigth loss is good for her health, but has nothing to do with her yelling all songs out to the highest levels. Album sales tank – her career next after she loses so much weight she evaporates.

    • Bryant January 22, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      Hey Pymp!

      I’m not sure how I missed your comment for so long – sorry about that! But yes, I agree completely. Thanks for the comment!

      B

  4. lizzie February 12, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    i cant stand that people think she can out sing the great Christina Aguilera!!

  5. Chantelle April 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    It’s not that she’s not liked. It’s because she thinks because she’s got all this fame, success and lost weight (healthy, unhealthy or surgery) she’s all that now and her attitude has changed! Not for the better. People can’t stand her now but loved her before….because she was way more humble. Now…I can’t even stand when she speaks. I’ve had many friends on Weight Watchers and they have NEVER lost the weight they were promised – I truly think she had surgery after she had her baby. Remember…Star Jones 😉

  6. cc April 12, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    She screwed Oprah, Oprah flew her in to do a show while Chicago was having a major blizzard, instead of hanging around in the beautiful hotel room Oprah provided JH decides she’s going to go to a party in Texas, leaves Chicago and when it’s time to get ready for the Oprah show she’s stuck in Texas (Oprah was not happy) JH wanted Oprah to send another private jet to pick her up. She’s like a bad kid sneaking out at night! If I was Oprah I would not have been so forgiving. She also wouldn’t let Oprah ask her weight even though she is a weight watchers spokes person!

    • Bryant April 12, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Completely agree with you! Thanks for reading. 🙂

  7. Ew February 24, 2013 at 7:39 pm #

    I hate her it’s not right but everything about the girl rubs me the wrong way. From her fame hungry fiancée to those awful weight watchers commercials she seems like such an ungrateful person and strangely very fake. I hate to say this aloud but when her family went through that tragedy the first thing I thought was “this bitch would leave her family to rot in inglewood” I thought that was weird like even nicki minaj the biggest diva in hip hop shows appreciation for her family even if she’s a witch to everyone else, was j hud singin bout buyin her momma a house? No she was still living on the southside of chicago. I thought the way people knew they really made it was when they bought they mama a house. She fights with fanswhich is beyond tacky to me. Plus anyone obsessed with their weight gets on my nerves like shut your mouth before I shove a 500 calorie burger in it. Kelly osburne lost weight n you dont see her in everyone butthole about it. I gotta say I will be thrilled to watch that star fade.

    • Gen Gen March 20, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

      Girl, you said it for me.

  8. lee johnson October 6, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

    the reason why i hate her is because the wrong person was convitced of a crime… you left your mom there to die you and your sister… and why haven’t her sister lost weight …she look like she has gotten bigger… NO MORE PITTY PARTY FROM ME … just be a ONE HIT WONDER…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I Kinda Hate Nicole Sherzinger « i am bmac - November 6, 2011

    […] it usually comes from a place of love – and not really hate at all. Remember my thoughts on Jennifer Hudson? Yeah, well, it’s that same kind of hate for Ms. […]

Leave a Reply

