My Top Ten Smartphone Apps

2 Jul

20110702-043840.jpg

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of articles written about the best smartphone apps out there. And I would encourage you to read some of those articles to find some really cool technology. This post, however, has a slightly different purpose…

I’ll be the first to admit that I’m too reliant on my iPhone. And there are so many instances when the damn thing actually detracts from just living life. So, I decided to make a list of my favorite apps that: make life more social, give me news and important info, or make boring tasks more exciting or faster.

In other words, these are the value-adding applications that I love:

1. Yelp – I loved the Yelp app from the very first time I used it. I knew it was great for reading reviews and some other cool stuff, but it wasn’t until a day-trip to Chicago that I really realized its true potential. In a new city, I was navigating like a local; I was eating at the best hole-in-the-wall spots and seeing some amazing sights – all without wasting a second of my extremely limited time there. Yelp focuses on real people writing real reviews, and you better believe it delivers.

2. Time – This is my go-to news source. Its mix of serious world news and light-hearted pop culture is exactly what my brain craves. The app is fast and so well-organized that I can get in, get my newsfeed, and get back out to continue making my own news.

3. Glympse – Having Glympse means never again driving and trying to give someone an update to the ever-popular text, “where u @?”. With practically one click, I can send someone a real-time view of my location, and I can even let them follow my GPS for as long as I want.

4. Wikipedia – Does anybody else remember having volumes of encyclopedias? I never really had a new set as a child, but I always inherited my cousin’s old ones. I would spend hours just reading and absorbing every little bit that I could. And now I can do the same thing on my iPhone, but this time the information is always up-to-date.

5. Epicurious – This is my favorite cooking app. It’s so easy to find high-rated recipes, and then I’m making delicious meals in no time at all!

6. Angry Birds – I’m a fidgeter. And sometimes I’m in situations where I just want to crawl through my skin because I have nothing to do. In comes Angry Birds to the rescue. It’s fun, simple, and mindless enough to keep me occupied when I’m going crazy, but it’s not so fascinating that I want to play it instead of living my life.

7. Open Table – I socialize a lot. And I entertain a lot. Instead of spending time looking for a place for dinner and then calling around to see who can take a reservation, I just jump on the Open Table app. In about 60 seconds, I can find great restaurants near my current location, decide on a time, enter the number of guests, and book a reservation. Talk about a time-saver and a stress-reliever!

8. Shazam – I love music. And I love getting new music. But I hate hearing a song and wondering who it is! Now when I hear a great song, I just Shazam it and then download it right away. In about a minute.

9. Netflix – I’m not really a TV or movie watcher. But when I do want to catch up on a TV series or an indie film, I’m not leashed to my living room. I can go to the park, ride a bus, or spin at the gym while enjoying my shows.

10. WordPress – It’s what I’m doing right now: sharing my life as it happens. And it sure makes a boring-ass road trip better.

So, friends, what do you think of my list? Do you have some other value-adding apps that you love too?

9 Responses to “My Top Ten Smartphone Apps”

  1. Lisa July 2, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

    Love all the apps you listed, but I do have a new favorite that can be quite addictive…..Words With Friends!! This app is scrabble you play with friends ( or pick random people if you don’t have friends). You play your word, send to your “friend” you wait until they make a word and this is all at your convenience. Send me a request, if you decide to check it out, my user name is LLspears.

    • Bryant July 2, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

      I’ve played that a little, but I kinda suck!

  2. Keith Miles July 3, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Replace Time with CNN and ditch epicourious and you have my favorite list. I’d put my Photoshop app on in place of the one deleted. It’s great to have an app to manipulate photos right on the phone.

    • Bryant July 5, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      I downloaded the PS app today – it’s really easy to use – love!

  3. xcarolineno July 3, 2011 at 3:38 am #

    I love this!!

    -Yelp is hands down my most used and most favourite app.
    -I taught my mother how to play angry birds (on chrome) and I totally regret it. she spent the last five days making me look up youtube cheats for her and making me help her beat levels. lol. i only played it for four days and couldn’t make it past level 1-21.
    -I love it when you send me Glympse!
    -When my internet accidentally got shut off Netflix on my phone saved my life… I sometimes can’t sleep without watching a movie. :)))

    • Bryant July 5, 2011 at 2:20 am #

      Yelp is my favourite too! =) And I love sending you Glympses too.

  4. techboyblog July 4, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    I like most of those apps that you have mentioned. The ones I didn’t know about, I’m downloading now. I would say PayPal is a good combination with the Open Table to find out how much people pay. Great app for spliting bills during birthdays.

    • Bryant July 5, 2011 at 2:19 am #

      The paypal app! I’ve never really gotten into it – but I can see the possibilities! Thanks!

  5. Cake Betch July 5, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    I love Shazam! I also love the Yelp app, Angry Birds, and Netflix. I’ve never even heard of glympse but I am going to download that right now.

    Also, have you played Plants vs Zombies? If not you need to get it. Justin had it and kept telling me I needed to get it and I refused until finally one day he just bought it for me. I played it through three times over before I finally got bored with it. GREAT time waster!

Leave a Reply

