Adventures in Infused Vodka: Part 1

23 Jul

The older I get, the less I like sweet drinks. I think I would gag if somebody tried to offer me a flirtini today. Okay, maybe that’s a bit dramatic, but you know what I mean. (Y’all know I don’t pass up liquor.)

But just because I’m no longer the guy who goes to the bar and says, “Give me that pink drink,” , I still do like my drink to be bursting with flavour. Enter my new crush – PineFin. That would be pineapple soaked in vodka (Finlandia brand – hence the “Fin”) for three days. And I like it up. If you’re not the dranker that I am, that just means shaken with ice and poured into a martini glass. Personally, I think all that bar terminology is kinda lame and is just meant to make people feel insecure. But whatevs.

Well, a PineFin can run me anywhere from $8 to $10. Apiece. And lord knows I’m not just gonna have one. Moderation? Please. Get real.

So, I’ve been reading all about making infused vodkas. And with the plethora of fresh local fruits at the farmers’ markets lately, I thought – why not? It sure looks easy enough.

So, today, Keith, Tobie (ya know, my car), and I ventured on down to the market to see what fruits spoke to me. Yeah, I’m weird like that. I go grocery shopping and see what speaks to me. And today’s speaking-fruits were fresh, Ohio cherries and peaches!

The infusion process seems easy enough, and everything on the innerwebz says that I can’t really screw it up. You just take some fruit, dump it in a mason jar with vodka, and voila! Okay, so maybe it’s not quite that easy. Here’s what I did:

  1. I washed and dried all the fruit. I was sure to be thorough with this because I really don’t want anything extra in my vodka – especially dirt or water!20110723-061206.jpg
  2. Next, I cut all the cherries in half and pitted them. I used about 2 cups of cherries, but I don’t think exact measurements are required. More fruit just means more taste. Then, I put the cherries in a quart mason jar.20110723-061232.jpg
  3. Then, I decided to add a vanilla bean. Cherry vanilla vodka sounds good, right? So, I sliced a bean in half, scraped the vanilla flecks into the jar, and then just dumped the whole pods in for kicks and giggles.20110723-061247.jpg
  4. After adding the vanilla bean, I filled up the jar with vodka (I used Finlandia), tightened the lid, and then shook it.
  5. Next up was the peach vodka. I cubed two ripe peaches – skin on – and dumped them in another quart mason jar.
  6. I wanted to muddle the peaches, but I didn’t have the proper tool. So, I just took an ice cream scoop and whacked the shit out of the peaches.
  7. I added the vodka, tightened the lid, and shook it.20110723-061301.jpg
  8. Last, I put the jars in a cabinet to rest for the next 3-5 days. And hopefully next week, I’ll be drinking an amazing, homemade, infused vodka martini (or four)!
Stay tuned for Part 2!

 

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Adventures in Infused Vodka: Part 1”

  1. Cake Betch July 26, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Bmac, if you need someone to help you drink this infused vodka, I am you girl, for realz.
    Do you remember Craig from Yelp? He was telling me about how to make infused Vodka cause you can get some really awesome infused vodkas from Blackcreek Bistro. I get one every time I go – the last time I was there I had a lemon infused one with a little shot of raspberry chambord…. OMGAMAZING.
    Also, this part: “I wanted to muddle the peaches, but I didn’t have the proper tool. So, I just took an ice cream scoop and whacked the shit out of the peaches.” ~ made me LOL for realz.

  2. Nadia H. July 29, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    “I just took an ice cream scoop and whacked the shit out of the peaches” — LOVE IT!! As someone who doesn’t drink but LOVES to entertain I am really excited to see how this works! In addition to always wanting to have a great bar set up I use flavoured alcohol in a lot of my baking and am always looking for something new and interesting. If this works out I might just have a new way to kick my cakes up a bit in flavours no one else has 🙂

    • Bryant September 5, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      I’m not sure how I missed this comment, Nadia, but I would most def recommend making the infused vodkas. They were super easy, and they tasted amazing! =)

Leave a Reply

