Bmac’s Review: iPhone 4S

16 Oct

There are hundreds – if not thousands – of reviews out there for the iPhone 4S, so I won’t bore you with all the techy details you can find anywhere else. I’m simply going to share my thoughts on why I believe Apple’s newest gadget is the best phone I’ve ever had – and why I think Steve is very happy. Here’s my review of the iPhone 4S:

It just works

That was one of Steve Jobs’s famous quotes about all Apple products. And I’m a firm believer that he’s right. I bought an iPod about six years ago, and since then, my entire slew of Apple products have “just worked”. Call them magic, or simply intuitive, but these cold pieces of plastic, metal, and glass seem to come alive when you pick them up!

And that especially goes for my iPhone 4S. Without reading an instruction manual or studying how-tos on the innerwebs, anybody can pick up the iPhone and figure it out. Just do what comes naturally, and I guarantee it will work. It just works.

It’s insanely fast

There’s a new processor inside the iPhone 4S that was originally made to run the iPad 2. So, without knowing anything about how computers work, common sense will tell you that if this chip was created to make the iPad go blazingly fast, then it must be amazing in the much-smaller iPhone. And it is.

Siri, your new best friend

I recently read an article that said, “nobody will buy the iPhone because of Siri, but everyone will quickly realize that it’s hands-down the best feature.” In case you’ve been living under a rock and have never heard of Siri, let me explain what it is. It’s the iPhone’s voice-controlled personal assistant. And she’s my new best friend.

On the first day I had my new iPhone, Siri worked almost flawlessly right out of the box. I drove to work while texting people and sending myself reminders – without ever touching a button.

I’m pretty sure that Siri is going to be make me an all-around better person. She can help you remember all the stuff that you would normally forget, and she can even remind you exactly when you need. For instance, yesterday, I told Siri to remind me to clean the kitchen when I got home. And as soon as I pulled up to the house, I got a friendly reminder. And then I got lots of hugs and kisses when I remembered to clean the kitchen all by myself!

The amazing camera

Over the years, I’ve learned a very valuable lesson about cameras: it’s not just megapixels that count. In fact, more megapixels can actually be a bad thing. There’s so much more to taking amazing photos, and the iPhone 4s just gets it right. This camera produces some fantastic photos. In fact, it’s the first phone that will make you not want to have a “good” camera on the side.

Oh, and there’s an HD video recorder too. And tt’s wicked-good.

The software

Apple makes all its own software. What does that mean to you? It means that everything on your iPhone will work fabulously together. Email, photos, music, reminders, videos, calendars, address books – they all function seamlessly since they’re all made by Apple.

You may find other phones that appear on the surface to do “cooler” things than the iPhone. But here’s the deal: Apple only does something when it can be done perfectly and work like magic for the customer. So, in the end, every experience with the iPhone really does feel likewell – magic.

New antennas

The new iPhone 4S has dual antennas that give me the best service I’ve ever had. And it’s lightening fast.

The customer experience

Apple products are insanely sturdy and last forever. But they’re not perfect. So, whenever something does go wrong, Apple is top-notch about fixing it. They understand that fixing a mistake also fixes a relationship with a customer. And they also understand that their relationship with a customer is the most important thing.

In the end…

I love my iPhone 4S. I also loved my iPhone 3GS. Honestly, I just love all Apple products. I’m not going to ever bash an Android phone – because I do think they’re great devices. They’re just not for me.

2 Responses to “Bmac’s Review: iPhone 4S”

  1. Cameron October 31, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    Well wriiten, and I am no fan boy, I had a galaxy S and then the s2 until 2 weeks ago, great phones, but the Iphone just works that much smoother, it blazes through home screens even when you have over 20 apps open, are streaming a youtube song in the background while loading a full content webpage, i dont get it. The phones an absolute powerhouse.

    • Bryant November 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! I’m glad to hear you agree! =)

Leave a Reply

