Allies & Equality

11 Jun

Image“I’m limited.
Just look at me.
I’m limited.
And just look at you.
You can do all I couldn’t do.
So now it’s up to you,
For both of us.
Now it’s up to you.”

If you’re familiar with Wicked, then you’ll know why these lines are my favorite part of the play. And for the rest of you, let me explain…

If you’re the green girl, you can’t be the one who successfully convinces everyone that it’s okay to be different. You’re limited to what you can do and whose minds and hearts you can change. But if you can find a perky blonde who’s already popular and accepted – that’s the girl who can really make a difference.

That’s how it is with me too. I’m already the different one, the weird one. So, why would the haters listen to me? Those are the people who need someone of their own kind to tell them it’s okay.

And that’s where you come into the picture.

I sincerely ask you – from my heart – to stand up for what’s right. I’m your neighbor, your friend, your employee, your boss, your family. Tell me that you value me, not in spite of my differences, but because of them. Show me you think I’m your equal with your words and actions. For the love of God, stop saying “that’s gay”. No excuses. Stop hiding in your subdivision and turning a blind eye to the Pride parade. I come to your weddings, your baby showers, your church ceremonies, and a bunch of other events where I’m uncomfortable. So it’s okay if you’re the one who’s uncomfortable for a little bit. And when your friends say something derogatory about gay people, stand up for me. I know you might lose a few friends, but I guarantee I’ve lost more.

So, what’s in this for you? Why should you rock the boat and be my ally? Because I’m fiercely loyal and will jump through hoops for you. Because I’ll work my ass off for you even more than I already do. Because I’ll give you my undying love and friendship. But I hope it’s simply because it’s the right thing to do.

I have a couple of amazing (straight) friends who are helping organize a float in this year’s Columbus Pride Parade. In years past when my friends weren’t involved, the float had about 10 people. And this year? It’s about 200.

And I know many of you love and support the gays every single day in your own special ways.

“Just look at you – you can do all I couldn’t do.”

And from the six year-old boy – who battles anxiety because he already knows he’s different – I thank you.

Leave a Reply

